About Kundalini Yoga:

Kundalini Yoga is the Yoga of Energy. Apart from our physical body and our physical anatomy, we are comprised of energetic anatomy too. Kundalini Yoga uses the activation of the energetic anatomy to help with clearing old emotions, help with meditation and build strength, resilience and confidence. It helps to achieve a happy balance of the two opposing forces in the body love (other) and ego (self).




Fig1.: This is a drawing of the three main energy channels by the spine and the 7 major energy centres along the spine.  Exercises for the back will keep your spine subtle and avoid back problems but also help with your energy centre and channel fitness.



Fig. 2) There are energy points all along the body and here are the many points concentrated under the sole of the feet. Many more smaller energy channels connect these points to other parts of the body.


Fig. 3: Kundalini Yoga Practice contains meditation and mudras (hand poses). The reason for mudras is that they help create an energy lock or circle, utilising the body’s energy in the best most efficient way. The mediations are more successful and restorative this way.


lungs and the bloodstraem

Fig.4: Kundalini Yoga poses are dynamic poses and when poses are put together (usually with a purpose in mind) this then becomes a set which is then called a Kryia. This simply translates into ‘to do’ or  “action, deed, effort” and is another word for exercise.


About Hatha Yoga:

Hatha Yoga provides us with the different poses. Although some might argue that there is only one type of yoga, i.e. yoga – modern interpretation of yoga has brought us many different styles depending what each yoga practice tends to focus on. Yoga is a vast knowledge and each yoga style has taken some of this knowledge and made it a central feature. Hatha Yoga’s central feature is the variety of yoga poses and an introduction to a general more holistic lifestyle.


surya namaskar A


Fig. 5: One of the most practiced yoga poses is the sun salutation. It is a set of yoga poses put together to flow in and out of the next pose.




Fig.6: These are some of the main hatha yoga poses but there are many more and poses come with beginners and advanced variation. Each pose can be made easier for beginners or more challenging for advanced students.

Screen Shot 2015-06-08 at 09.34.47

Fig. 6.: Hatha Yoga focuses on the study and teachings of physical anatomy mainly. There will be some techniques which border into working with energy channels such as yoga breathing also called “pranayama” but as a general rule of thumb, Hatha yoga’s teaching aims stays in the physical realms of awareness.